Cross-discipline project

Hello there!
In this blog,I am going to talk about the cross discipline project, which I have cooperated with in this trimester. I have worked with game and graphic design  disciplines during the short 3 weeks time,it was pretty rush and struggled because I also need to learn new skill and technique in order to achieve my client’s expectation.

Graphic design discipline.

I was working with Sam Ferguson who is the graphic design student.He explained that he wants me to make an animation for his logo. He designed this original logo for a spray painting company.
Here is the logo↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓

Screen Shot 2016-08-08 at 12.16.34

Spray painting style Logo designed by Sam Ferguson

The purpose of this logo animation is to animate the painting slowly dripping down and stop, so it will look like the original logo.

 

This is a finished animation.↓↓↓↓↓↓↓

*How is the process to create this logo animation?
– I completed this logo animation in really short time. Me and Sam we had a face to face discussion just one time because this animation wasn’t a complex work. I actually spent one day to complete this animation.In the process, I had misunderstood what he wants for the animation and it makes me so frustrated because I felt I was wasting too much time to do a wrong thing. Fortunately, I completed this logo animation as soon as I can and he is happy about the result as well.

*What did I learn through the process?
– Communication is crucial when we are working with other disciplines,we always need to take a note and ask as many questions as we can in order to understand what exactly other disciplines students expected to see.

Game design discipline (Shackled).

I also worked on the environment design with game students. This project is their final project and the style of the game is 2D asset. We had a discussion about the workload and art bible for this project, we were using Google Drive as our concepts and references collection and Facebook as communication platform,and we also have meeting every friday around 10 am.

Screen Shot 2016-08-09 at 12.15.00

Google Drive

 

Here are some environment concepts and assets I had created.↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓Screen Shot 2016-08-08 at 14.47.01
We choose dudgeon as our art style,which is dark and medieval visual image. So I came out some idea for the environment design. Above image is my initial concept and then I keep developing another idea which is Dark grave.↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓
Screen Shot 2016-08-08 at 16.21.56
The idea I came out for dark grave is dusty and death and hopeless.

Screen Shot 2016-08-07 at 16.18.15

This are the assets I’ve created for the game. 

20160808_151752

It is important to list every single asset, which I am gonna work on.

*What do I learn through the process?
-This is my first time learning pixel art in a really short time and I do like it! I have using Pinterest to collect reference images and it is definitely help me a lot to understand light and shadow, which can give the objects or assets more realistic feeling.

發表迴響

