Studio One_LO1. Character Modelling

Hello, reader!
In this blog, I am going to demonstrate the process of my character’s modeling in 3Dsmax.
I wasn’t good working on 3Dsmax and it always makes me crazy a bit…….
For this assignment, we have to create a low poly character, which is under 1000 tris.
modelling   whole body_tris

(My character’s whole body model image and total been used)

hair   tris for hair

(My character’s hair Tris, which is 139)

This is my character’s whole body’s model and the total Tris is 969, which is good to match the criteria of this assignment.

I tried to keep it really simple and my idea is that I can draw the details through texturing instead of making all the elements into 3 dimensional.
I did my character’s hair separately to the body.
Although in the first time I was trying to follow the tutorial and tried to complete my character by using boxes, it didn’t work well as I expected. Therefore, I used cylinders to build my character’s body. I learned a lot of function in 3Dsmax and it is not difficult as I thought in the beginning, it just takes a time to build it.

After modeling my character, I started to unwrap my character in UVW, it takes me a lot of time to figure out which part is which part :'(….

Uvs

While finished unwrap everything, I put my UVS in photoshop starting my texturing. I was trying to simplify everything on her, such as color and the image on her shirt. During texturing I just realize how important to organize my UVS as perfect as possible because it affects the result on character’s texturing. I just create one texture for my charater…without depth or specular Bitmap on it, but in the future, I will add more specific detail on it, such as in this video he presents the process of texturing his robot.

1

so he already prepared his modeling for texturing.2

Then  start to load texturing in this robot. Firstly, it starts with the “Bump" and select “Bitmap" and chose the textured file you want to load on.3

then keep import other textures you want to load on, such as Defuse and Specular.

4

you can also adjust the curve of your specular in material editor to make it change obviously and prettier.

In the following images  will present how I created my bump map and change my diffuse colour in photoshop.

BUMP map

I went through Photoshop and changed my diffuse color into black and white. Black areas will result in a raised contour whereas  white areas will result in a theconcave surface. 

uvs2_NRM

My classmate also introduces me “Crazy Bump" this powerful software which can make a nice normal map.

1

This character has been added a normal map and specular material.

just diffuse

This is original modeling without adding any bump map.  

After adding bump map and specular material, it looks so shiny on the surface and the line on her face gave a deep curve on it.

 

This reference tutorial is coming from http://www.digitaltutors.com/tutorial/1164-Creating-and-Rigging-a-Low-Poly-Robot-in-3ds-Max-and-Photoshop#play-29186

whole body _tingtingdonggondThe Final image of my character Tingting-Dongdong!

During the process of modeling, we have to set joint for posing and animating the character but in my case, I didn’t do it properly because we have limited Tris to use. So basically, I set the edges around my character’s elbows and wrists for simply posed her position.

Screen Shot 2015-11-04 at 18.43.44(FRONT VIEW OF ALL THE CHARACTER)
Screen Shot 2015-11-04 at 18.44.07(SIDE VIEW OF ALL THE CHARACTER)

We didn’t do animating or movement for this character project because of time was too tight to make it. However, I am satisfied on the result very much.

 

發表迴響

