Week1. Overview and Your “Professional" Identity

Hi,I am Ting,
I am studying animation in this campus,and this is my second trimester in SAE.Honestly,I don’t really have idea about how’s animation industry going on over the world.Luckily, the first week in our lecture,it’s introducing how can you successfully enter in your professional area and thrive it when there are opportunity comes to you.However, I went to campus library and search some helpful resources to put references in this blog.I do strongly recommend this book for people who are study in animation course,"Your career in animation: how to survive and thrive".

Firstly, I would like to say that I am really proud of artists who are working in animation industry.Not only because it is my future career ,but also those animators has to learn variety of skills to create an animation. For example, if you want to be a good “draft man", you have to be able to draw many different kind of human poses and animal etc..Other skills should include strong storytelling,cinematography,staging,composition and storyboarding. It is vital to have a clear concept or idea on your storyboard, you also have to communicate ideas to the entire production team,so strong communication skills are an important asset.

yep! a lot of work to do!!

(from:http://kittyfung.blogspot.com.au/2013/07/busy-july-need-to-learn-how-to-hold.html)

Secondly,before achieve your goal(dream job),you have to prepare your professional “portfolio" and impress your interviewer.

image

(from:http://memecrunch.com/meme/1PHW7/that-s-just-impressive/image.png)

If you want to be a story board artist, you have to ask yourself: What should I include in  my portfolio?

According to David B.Levy.(2006), he mentioned Diane Kredensor, who is an animator,she said “I believe a wide variety of styles and shows make a strong portfolios to hire potential board artists,I like to know that they can adapt to any style."(p.34)

I think the good way to show your employer that how is your skills in an interview,it’s trying to present your daily drawing ,such as, sequential art like comic books or your own idea storyboard. Also show them life drawing (both human, animal and landscape). Using different art material can show that you are not limited on specific art style.

In my point of view, before being an expert to create your own animation ,you have better to learn to board in Flash, which is great asset ,and also you have to put effort to understand the basic of cinematography and storytelling,it will always be the same process you have to work on.

last but not least,I would like to show one video which is an important advice from John Lasster.

hope you enjoy it^^

(from:John Lasseter Q&A Any advice for aspiring animation student?)

REFERENCE:

David B.Levy.(2006).Your career in animation: how to survive and thrive.New York. Allworth  Press.

發表迴響

